Celebrating the Feast of World Cup Fever

Cricket — A word heard rapidly from a new born child to 60 years old man in every country.

ICC Cricket World Cup — It only means Excitement…Excitement…Excitement…among all the nations…

Even though there are many types of world cup sports events, ICC World cup has grabbed the special attention from all the fans of cricket. The only platform for all the countries to prove on their talent grounds.

ICC conducts preliminary qualification rounds leading up to a finals tournament which is held every four years.

The tournament is the world’s fourth-largest and fourth-most-viewed sporting event.

If we go back 36 years and have a review on the World cup winners…

The first title was won by

1975 — West Indies

1979 —  West Indies

1983 — India

1987 — Australia

1992 —  Pakistan

1996 — Sri Lanka

From 1999 Australia

1999 —  Australia

2003 —  Australia

2007 — Australia

Thus, Australia got 4 titles in World cup and West Indies, twice and Srilanka, Pakisthan, and India are singular title winner countries…

And now the most exciting event is going on ICC Cricket World cup 2011…

The winner of the world cup 2011 is yet to be determined… The most awaited finals will be on  April 2, 2011 at Mumbai, India.

The 2011 ICC Cricket World Cup is the tenth Cricket World Cup.

The Opening Ceremony was held in Bangladesh. The venue for the opening ceremony was Bangabandhu National Stadium in Dhaka, Bangladesh. The event took place on February 17, 2011, 2 days prior to the first match of the World Cup.

The 2011 Cricket World Cup winning team would be taking home a prize money of US$ 3 million and US$ 1.5 million for runner-up, with the International Cricket Council deciding to double the total allocation for the coveted tournament to US$ 10 million.

The winning team will also take home a replica of the ICC Cricket World Cup Trophy, that has been awarded since 1999.

The remaining two semi-finalists will receive 0.75 million US$ each
The last four quarter-finalists will each receive 0.37 million US$.

The match reached semi finals now…

The present leading run scorers are…

422     Jonathan Trott              England
394     Tillakaratne Dilshan      Sri Lanka
379     Sachin Tendulkar      India
363     Kumar Sangakkara      Sri Lanka
363     Upul Tharanga              Sri Lanka

The present Leading wicket takers are

21     Shahid Afridi      Pakistan
17     Zaheer Khan      India
15     Robin Peterson      South Africa
15     Tim Southee      New Zealand
14     Imran Tahir      South Africa

Semi Final -1 is held between the countries Srilanka and Newzealand.
Semi Final -2 is held between the countries Pakistan and India .

And the winners of semi finals will proceed to the finals.

I wish good luck to the participants. I hope these countries in the present world cup will surely provide a treat for all the cricket lovers.


Image Source: [http://www.thecricketblog.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/Cricket-World-Cup-2011.jpg]